Revelation From A Cab Driver

In college, the real world seemed so fantastic and simple. I would graduate, find a job, and live my big fabulous life in the city. Well, that plan hasn’t exactly worked out and the road to making it big in the real world is definitely much harder than I anticipated. You interview, you think everything went well and surprise someone has more experience than you or better yet? they’ll do the work for free! To say the least, my road to the real world has been one of tears, loss of self-esteem and constant complaining (sorry family and friends!). With the New Year I decided there needed to be a new me and my cab ride last night only affirmed this resolution. In a nut shell, the driver told me this “If you believe you can do it, it will happen. If you don’t believe you can do it, then you’re going to do everything in your power to make sure it doesn’t happen because if it does happen that means you were wrong – and nobody likes to be wrong.” While many friends and family members have spent time and time again convincing me that I could do things, it is only until I truly start believing in myself that things will start to happen – such a simple concept right?! Not really. I’m sure there’s a lot of people out there with the same feelings of hopelessness that I have felt over the past couple of months and I am here to tell you…. GET OVER IT! Stop wasting time feeling bad for yourself and turn that time into something productive. This is something my boyfriend has consistently drilled into my mind, but for some reason it took a speech from a cab driver for me to finally realize it. So, with a brand new year comes a brand new start and here are some quotes I plan to live by in 2012 (and the rest of my life).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

